Skip to content

And, we’re BACK!

June 24, 2010

First of all, major apologies for our total lack of cooking inspirations and blog postings for the last couple of months. The warm weather has spurred an increase in socialization around the city, which, in turn, has kept me off of my computer! This is a poor excuse, and we promise to do better!

This past weekend, I went home for Father’s Day, which of course, entailed cooking a big dinner for my wonderful dad. To be fair, he actually grilled out steak, but my mom and I handled the sides and dessert.

For dessert, I made a chocolate bundt cake. I typically am not a big cake fan (not enough flavor or moistness for my liking). However, I got this recipe from a college friend after she made it, and I ate approximately half the cake by myself. Ever since then, it has become a favorite of my family’s, especially my dad. Also, this cake is super easy to make; it can be whipped up in less than 15 minutes..promise. So, I thought this would be the perfect recipe for Father’s Day!

Ingredients

Cake

1 Devil’s food cake mix ( with pudding in the mix)

A Little Batter

1 small box of choc instant pudding

4 eggs

1/2 cup sugar

¾ cup water

3/4 cup vegetable oil

1 cup sour cream

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Cream cheese icing:

1 &1/2 box powdered sugar (16 oz kind)

4 tbs butter (room temp)

A Little Icing

1 8 oz. package of cream cheese (room temp)

3 TBS milk

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour bundt pan. Beat cake with everything but the chocolate chips until creamy. Add chips and pour into oan. Bake 45 min to 1 hour. Turn onto cooling rack and frost when ready. To make the frosting, you simply mix the ingredients together using an electric mixer. How easy is that?!

Cake post-icing

Cake pre-icing
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

